

PRESS RELEASE

FOR RELEASE: February 11, 2015

TOWN OF ERIN APPOINTS NEW ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

Town of Erin, February 4, 2015: The Town of Erin Council confirmed the appointment of fourteen (14) new members to its re-activated Erin Economic Development Committee (EEDC) at the Councils meeting on February 3, 2015.

"I am very pleased with the quality of all nineteen applicants we had to select from and the process of selecting the final thirteen (13) committee members was not an easy undertaking," said Mayor Al Alls. "These thirteen members along with Council representative Rob Smith will be responsible for creating the foundation of our economic development action plan for the next four years," said Mayor Alls.

The newly appointed EEDC will be chaired by Maria Britto, a former member of the Brampton EDC and Caledon Economic Development Advisory Council. Mrs. Britto is presently a member of the 2015 Pan Am Equine Planning Group, a member of the Hills of the Headwaters Board and the Chair of the Central West Local Health Integration Network (LHIN) for the past five years. "Mrs. Britto has the experience and the networks across the region to bring strong leadership to the EEDC and I look forward to working closely with the Chair as we begin the Town's economic development planning process," said Bob Cheetham, Town of Erin's new Economic Development Coordinator.

The new EEDC will provide advice through the Economic Development Coordinator and Chief Administrative Officer to Town Council and act as a springboard for several Task Force initiatives proposed to begin in March 2015. The ultimate goal is to advance the cause of economic development in the Town of Erin and build a collaborative framework for developing the Town's four year action plan.

The Erin Economic Development Committee (EEDC) is made up of thirteen highly qualified members and one municipal Councillor. New members include: Chair- Maria Britto, Mary Venneman, David Spencer, Christopher Bailey (Erin BIA), Mary Shields (EWCC), Wayne Stickley, Jamie Cheyne, Keith McKinnon, Susan Powell, Jo Fillery, Chris Naraysingh, Vanessa Parker, John Gainor and Councillor Rob Smith. The inaugural meeting of the EEDC will take place at 7:00 pm on Wednesday February 18th at the Town of Erin office at 5684 Trafalgar Road in Hillsburgh.

"The reactivation and appointment of the new EEDC members is Councils full public endorsement that the Town of Erin is open for business," said Town of Erin Mayor Alan Alls.

-30-

For Further Information contact:

Bob Cheetham

Economic Development Coordinator

Telephone: 519-855-4407 Ext: 241 bob.cheetham@erin.ca